lesson two

3 Apr

Just last week I completed Basics 2 at Threadden.  This class was buttons and zips…wow!  Buttons were easy, zips more challenging. I thought it was going to be a tough three hours, but I was pleasantly surprised.  Sure, my zips weren’t perfect but I followed the instructions and they work like zips should! 

I’m definately someone who needs purpose to achieve things.  Going to class always inspires me, but I still need purpose to sit down and craft away.  I thought about my efforts in class, and how everything felt easier than when I was at home.  It got me thinking that maybe it’s not the super duper sewing machines, and more to do with being around people and having to show what you’ve created – there is a sense of purpose, and also I suppose a sense that you could “fail”. 

It was with this in mind that I sat down with the purpose to make a gift for a friend’s little girl, who is soon to turn 2.  I figured if I was making with the purpose of giving, and therefore showing my creation, that maybe…just maybe, I might have more success.  Here’s what I made…

I must admit I was pretty chuffed with my efforts!  Maybe I put in more effort…took my time..thought about what I was doing more, that made the end result better.

Leave a Reply

